Year Long Reading Challenges: 2022

This year I am taking part in two year-long reading challenges. Buzzwordathon and Beat the Backlist. Hoping that they will help me get through my extensive TBR list, which I still need to finish writing up. And to help me get to reading 36 books this year; which is an average of 3 per month – with some monster-sized books on my TBR I am hoping I will manage it.

A little bit about the challenges if, like me before this year, you haven’t heard about them.

Buzzwordathon

2022 prompt list

Is a readathon (can be found on Goodreads and StoryGraph) created by booksandlala where you are given a prompt each month and the goal is to read a book to fulfil that prompt – well that is the easy version. You can also do it as a monthly readathon (focused on the first week of the month) with an aim to read as many books that fulfil the prompts as you can. As a mood reader and someone with many chronic illnesses, I am taking the first route.

I am still trying to set my TBR for this one, I am giving myself as many options for the prompts as I can (like I said I am a mood reader). Here are the ideas I have so far:

JANUARY

  • When You Get the Chance by Emma Lord
  • What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli & Adam Silvera

FEBRUARY

  • What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli & Adam Silvera
  • Have We Met? by Camille Baker
  • The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller
  • The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes

MARCH

  • The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

APRIL

MAY

JUNE

JULY

  • The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

AUGUST

  • The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahearn

SEPTEMBER

  • The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller

OCTOBER

  • Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin
  • Daught of the Siren Queen by Tricia Levenseller
  • The Raven King by Maggie Steifvater

NOVEMBER

  • The Perks of Being A Wallflower by stephen Chbosky

DECEMBER

  • Daisy Jones and The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Beat the Backlist

There is an in-depth blog post about this here written by the creator. This is the 6th year of this readathon, but my first year taking part.

The only real stipulations I have found are that all the books cannot have been published in the current year, and you must read it in its entirety during this year (so no rollover books from the previous year can count). You can use one book for multiple prompts, which for me is a lifesaver with how long the list is. I doubt I will get to them all.

Beat the Backlist 2022 prompts

I am not going to write out a list of the prompts and what book I hope to read for them, I am not wholly planning my TBR around this list, I am just hoping I can tick off a number of these prompts. I will include if a book I read fits some of these in my reviews. Along with any other readathon prompts that they fit.

~ Chelle ~

Leave a comment